startingmyjourney

December 3, 2011

Giving something back

Filed under: Now Surviving — by alifefullofspice @ 8:43 pm

Image

Last night I joined many others in St Basils Big Sleep Out. A Charity that works with young homeless people and also help prevent homelessness. For those of you that are familiar with my story you may remember after my abusive relationship ended I was homeless at 22. I didn’t know who to turn to for help so just ended up on a path to self destruction. I am thankful that eventually I managed to find the right path and build a more positive future for myself. Last night as I struggled to construct a shelter out of a box and a sheet of plastic in a car park in Birmingham I still felt extremely fortunate. I had access to hots drinks and food, security was provided to ensure safety, I had money in my pocket and if I changed my mind I could just collect my stuff, load my car and head home to the warmth and comfort of my house and be with my family. The young people I did this for don’t have these options and without the help they receive from St Basils you do wonder where there path will take them. Last night was my first sleep out for St Basils and I don’t plan on it being my last. If anyone would like to add to my sponsorship total then please follow the attached link.

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/JoHetherington

Thanks Jo

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

